Tags

, , ,

This recipe is what made me gain 10 kgs in my last year of school (which I have since lost, by the way). A friend at school was selling this fudge to raise money for some or other fundraiser, and I was her biggest customer.

Two years later, I managed to con her into giving me the recipe.

CLASSIC FUDGE

Ingredients:

For a single quantity, you will need:
2 cups of sugar
125 g butter
80 ml water
2 tablespoons of golden syrup
1 can of condensed milk
1 tsp vanilla essence
A large pot, wooden spoon and a glass dish

Method:

Put the sugar, butter, water and syrup into a pot. Stir until the sugar has dissolved. Then, put the stove on high and put the pot on the hot plate. Stir continuously until the mixture starts boiling.

Turn the stove down to a medium heat and wait for the mixture to cool down slightly (stop boiling) before adding the tin of condensed milk.

Put the stove on high again. Stir continuously for about 45 minutes (usually I find that I only stir for 25 – 30 minutes).

When the mixture thickens and becomes slightly darker in colour, place a ‘blob’ of the mix into a glass of water to test if it feels like toffee. If it does, and the mixture is thick enough to come off the sides of the pot as you stir, then take it off the stove.

Continue stirring very fast and get someone else to add a teaspoon of vanilla essence to the mixture.

Pour the mixture into a greased glass dish and wait for it to cool down and harden before cutting into squares.

 

